CDM, CFPP Practice Standards


Professional Practice Standards serve as the basis for quality dietetic practice for dietary managers. They serve as a guide for self-evaluation to determine the education and skills needed to advance an individual's level of practice.

Competence Area 1

Fluid Intake: Assessing Fluid Needs & Documenting Intake

Documenting in the Medical Record

Competence Area 2

Calculating Food Costs

Measuring Meal Production & Calculating Meal Equivalents

Determining Menu Item Prices

Menu Planning

Competence Area 3

Estimating Staffing Needs

Calculating FTEs

Competence Area 4

Emergency Planning

Food Safety

Food Storage Guidelines

Competence Area 5

Controlling Costs in Foodservice

Foodservice Department Catering